Daisies or Sunflowers

Noticing a pattern in the choice of flowers in my doodles, I started looking in to what made me want to pencil out the same type of flower again and again and again. I always enjoy drawing a central circle- neat, clean, small and ready to burst in to a flame of precisely five, and often times a few more petals around its little round face. Like the sun! Yes, this would perhaps clue me in on why I like drawing sunflowers a lot. But then, when I color the flower petals, I don’t always go for yellow. I sometimes pick other colors- like pink, red, peach, orange or just leave them white- in which case they look surprisingly similar to daisies.

English: Daisies

Image via Wikipedia

 

It  turns out, the two belong to a large flower family that includes both daisies and sunflowers as its members, as well as any other flowers I doodle, that may not necessarily be sunflowers or daisies- but look like them- are not accidentally similar. They after all are cousins.

I perhaps like the simplicity that comes with the flowers’ construction as well as the pretty, minimalist, clean beauty with no scent of their own- an additional reason I may be attracted to the flowers. The flowers have no means overwhelming me with their powerful odor and thus can not sway my affinity towards them in any way. They are simple for the hand to draw, remind me of innocent, happy things, and prove to me that those that impress upon the imagination are not necessarily the loudest or the most fragrant. They are those with personal, simple, minimalist appeal- all reflecting the nature of that who loves them most.

~ Bibi

One response to “Daisies or Sunflowers

  1. Pingback: Shasta Daisies Everywhere! | A HEALTHY LIFE

Leave a Reply

