Facebook is scary

No, you are not on a separate privacy setting on my Facebook. I know you think you are, because you can’t see much of what I’m really up to on Facebook. But it is that way on purpose, and it is like that for everybody.

You see, my private life is kept private on Facebook since those who are in it already know what I am up to. Those who are not in it directly, don’t get to see what’s going on in it via Facebook. If something is on Facebook, it is on there because it’s general information. Although I’ve taken out so much, you can hardly call the provided information ‘general’.

I know what you are thinking. What’s the point of being on Facebook then? Well see, those who matter already know what’s going on. Those who want to know what is going on can always (try and) ask. But you won’t see it publicly available on the internet anywhere. My life out in the open for all to see and comment on, I do not find the idea very appealing.

But since I know most everybody finds the idea of sharing their lives on Facebook quite appealing. I can thus be both adequately entertained and informed of what is going on with your life. I know when you have a tiff with a pal, when things are going bad at work and I know what you are up to with your significant other. You always tell me when you find a new job, or when you leave one that I know you can not stand.

As much as I pride myself in not being one of those folks who watch reality TV shows, I do have one on my fingertips that I can tune in to whenever I feel like by signing in to Facebook. I know when you get engaged, and how great you are doing when your pictures come out, when your babies are born and pretty much everything else that you so graciously share with the world.

Jersey Shore (TV series)

But like in every reality TV show, people get in to situations that are sticky- with their best friends, significant others and work mates. It’s not a bad thing of course, because it is so normal for human beings to be faced with difficult situations. But this is sensitive information. I feel for you when I see comments about something I feared would make its way in to your life. I wish you had not shared so much. Because I kind of knew what you’re dealing with right now was coming.

And when we let that information out on Facebook, one status message and comment after the other, it’s not hard to figure out how difficult things are in your private life at the moment and what type of things make you upset. Facebook allows you and your life to become predictable.

That’s probably why recruiters use Facebook more often than LinkedIn to hire. Business folk have an even keener sense of reading in to people’s lives via behavior, body language and ‘commentology’. Your pictures, your favorite games, your groups, your favorite quotations, people who inspire you, and more recently articles you read and music you listen to tells me a lot about you. People who comment on your photos always add any information to the picture that you may have left out. Sometimes entire dialogues begin from innocent looking pictures or changes in your Facebook statuses. All this makes it incredibly easy for one to know exactly what type of person you are, who you hang out with, what you relate to, your political affiliations, your religious beliefs, what your friends are like and pretty much your entire attitude towards most everything that matters in the world.

I am not psychic but I do know psychics are people who have a great observation. I can tell so much about you by the way you interact with me. I can hang out with you a couple of times (or less) and befriend you on Facebook. If you are an average person and are liberal with what you choose to share, I’ll be able to figure out what all is the deal with you and your life.

I know most of ya’ll aren’t as observant (paranoid) as I am. Because you don’t take things like Facebook and social networking so seriously. It is meant for fun, isn’t it? But since I think like I do and I’m good at piecing together information and pretty much figuring your entire life out using Facebook, I assume you could do the same with the information I leave on and the comments I allow to be made on my information. I do know that if you thought the way I do, you would be more careful with what you have on your Facebook too.

Bibi

Leave a Reply

